Log in

2022 President’s Award for Leadership in Statistics Announced

18 Aug 2022 3:06 PM | Marie-Louise Rankin (Administrator)

During his tenure as SSA President, Prof Adrian Barnett established the President’s Award for Leadership in Statistics. The intention of the award is to recognise an individual or team who has made an outstanding contribution to leadership in statistics, and each President may award one of these during their tenure.

Over the last two years, COVID-19 has meant that statisticians all around Australia, and internationally, have stepped up to provide public commentary on statistical issues, and provide advice to governments. These contributions are worthy and appreciated.

However, the group of individuals who I wish to recognise with my President’s award made contributions over the last two years that were less public. Over the last two years, when so many of us felt isolated, were confined to our homes, and were separated from our families and friends, this group of individuals worked extremely hard to maintain a sense of community among statisticians. So, in recognition of their leadership of the statistical community around Australia over the last two years, I wish to nominate all Branch Councils of the SSA from March 2020 to March 2022 for my President’s Award for Leadership in Statistics.

When the pandemic was declared in March 2020 and in-person gatherings banned, the SSA Branch Councils worked hard to continue serving their members. By pivoting to online events, a sense of community within our profession was not only maintained, but strengthened: members now had access not only to their local Branch’s events, but to SSA events happening all across Australia. I myself benefited greatly from this: tuning into inspiring and interesting presentations from across Australia helped me to get through the long, locked-down Melbourne winters. With restrictions now a thing of the past, I am pleased to see that Branches are continuing to offer virtual attendance options for some events, making SSA events accessible to a greater proportion of our members than ever before.

So: in recognition of their leadership of the statistical community across Australia during the first two years of the COVID-19 pandemic, I am awarding the SSA Branch Councils from March 2020 to March 2022 my President’s Award for Leadership in Statistics, with the names of all awardees listed below. Each of these people can claim receipt of the “SSA President’s Award for Leadership in Statistics, awarded to the 2020-2022 Branch Councils”.

Jessica Kasza, August 2022

New South Wales


Thomas Fung

Emi Tanaka

Clara Grazian

Damjan Vukcevic

Runze Alex Xu

Ben Harrap

Boris Beranger

Elizabeth Korevaar

Matt Wand

Cameron Patrick

Benoit Liquet-Weiland

Rheanna Mainzer

Houying Zhu

Lidija Turkovic

Firouzeh Noghrehchi

Daniel Fryer

Gordana Popovic

Lauren Kennedy

Luca Maestrini

Hien Nguyen

Joanna Wang

Patrick Robotham

Nicole de la Mata

Kevin Wang

Yidi Yan

Kohleth Chia

Jake Olivier

South Australia

Munir Hiabu

Murthy Mittinty 

Ardalan Mirzaei

Barbara Toson

Mark Donoghoe

Aarti Gulyani

Matias Quiroz

Paul Sutcliffe

Western Australia

Wendy Li

Alun Pope

Shahid Ullah

Brenton Clarke

Helena Oakey

Shih Ching Fu                       

Lan Kelly

Torben Kimhofer              

Kylie Lange 

Deneegan Subramanian


Fadzai Chikwava                 

Francis Hui

John Henstridge

Warren Muller

Rick Tankard

Nick Husek

Alethea Rea

Pauline O'Shaughnessy

Rowena Burch

Tom Lawrence

Berwin Turlach

Nelson Chua


Xuan Liang

Dimitrios Vagenas

Anton Westveld

Adrian Barnett

Linh Nghiem

Lee Jones

Michael Martin

Xing Lee

Gwenda Thompson

Megan Steele

Belinda Baker

Rachel King

Peter Caley

Natalie Scott

Brenda Vo

Farzana Jahan


Miranda Mortlock


Peter Baker


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software