Abel Prize 2019 – Call for nominations

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters is calling for nominations of candidates for the Abel Prize 2019.

The Abel Prize amounts to NOK 6 million.

The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics and applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The Abel Prize may be awarded to one single person, or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. The first instalment of the Abel Prize was in 2003. For laureates up until 2018, please consult www.abelprize.no

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards the Abel Prize on the basis of a recommendation from the Academy’s Abel Committee, chaired by an Academy member and consisting of four further members elected amongst names put forward by the International Mathematical Union and the European Mathematical Society. The Abel Committee receives all nominations and may itself nominate candidates for the Abel Prize. The name of the Abel Laureate will be announced in March 2019. The award ceremony will take place in Oslo in May 2019.

We hereby invite you (or your society or institution) to nominate candidate(s) for the Abel Prize 2019. Your nomination should be accompanied by a description of the work and impact of the nominee/nominees, together with names of distinguished specialists in the field of the nominee/nominees who can be contacted for an independent opinion.

Your letter of nomination should be sent no later than September 15, 2018 by e-mail to [email protected] or by mail to The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Drammensveien 78, NO-0271 Oslo, Norway.
It is also possible to nominate candidates by using the online nomination form.

For further information and the nomination form, please consult www.abelprize.no


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons