Pitman Medal

The Society awards a gold medal, the Pitman Medal, at most once annually, in recognition of outstanding achievement in, and contribution to, the discipline of Statistics.  An Awards Committee, chaired by the President of the Society, makes recommendations to the Society’s Central Council as to appropriate Award recipients. Just like Honorary Life Memberships the Pitman Medal recipient is usually announced at the Society’s Conference.

Members of the Society are encouraged to propose suitable recipients of the Pitman Medal, Honorary Life Membership or a Society Service Award. Suggestions, with brief supporting information, should be emailed to the Society’s ([email protected]), as Chair of the Awards Committee.

Former Pitman Medal recipients are:

1978   E.J.G. Pitman

1980   H.O. Lancaster

1982   P.A.P. Moran

1986   E.J. Hannan

1988   C.C. Heyde

1990   P.G. Hall

1992   A. James

1993  E.J. Williams

1994   J.M. Gani

1996   W.J. Ewens

1998   E. Seneta

2000   G.N. Wilkinson

2002   T.P. Speed

2004   A.J. Baddeley

2005   J. Darroch

2006   D.J. Daley

2008   J. Robinson

2010   G. J. McLachlan

2012   A.H. Welsh

2013   M.P. Wand

2014   N.A.C. Cressie

2016   K. Mengersen

2018   L. Ryan



Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons