Queensland

These pages provide information on the Queensland Branch of the Statistical Society of Australia Inc.

The Queensland Branch organises and runs regular meetings and occasional workshops and symposia. At each meeting, an invited speaker presents a seminar covering aspects of their work of interest to statisticians. Currently, Branch meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month, although this may vary to accommodate visiting speakers.

The Statistical Society of Australia Inc (SSAI) was founded in 1962 as a national “umbrella” organisation to support and further the work of state statistical societies already in existence, to establish a national journal and newsletter and to host national conferences. The overall objective of the Society is to further the study, application and good practice of statistical theory and methods in all branches of learning and enterprise. The Society provides optional professional accreditation for members, at the level of Accredited Statistician (AStat) or Graduate Statistician (GStat). Details may be found at the SSAI WWW page.

Membership of the SSAI is open to all those with an interest in statistics and the objectives of the Society. For details, see joining SSAI.

Branch Council

The following people were elected to Council at the March 2015 Annual General Meeting of the Branch.

President Peter Baker p.baker1@uq.edu.au
Vice-President/Past President Helen Johnson Helen.Johnson@qsuper.qld.gov.au
Secretary Dimitrios Vagenas dimitrios.vagenas@qut.edu.au
Treasurer Helen Thompson helen.thompson@qut.edu.au

Councillors

Council member and membership officer
Tania Patrao patraotania@gmail.com
Young stats Nicholas Tierney nicholas.tierney@gmail.com
Council member and newsletter
Lee Jones lee.jones@iinet.net.au
Council member and web site Adrian Barnett a.barnett@qut.edu.au

Correspondence should be addressed to the Branch secretary by email.

SSAI QLD Branch 2014 CC Report

Follow

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkdin
Contact us
Hide Buttons